Meet Our Faculty: Sarah Clark

The teachers and staff members at St. Paul Preparatory share a love of cultures and education. We come from diverse backgrounds and share our unique talents and experiences with our school community. We truly care about our students and take joy in helping them reach their full potential.

Meet Sarah Clark from our Science department.

Faculty Profile, Sarah Clark

Science Department

  • Favorite movie: A Bug’s Life
  • Favorite book: Mystery books, especially the Alex McKnight series, by Steve Hamilton
  • Favorite color: Pink!
  • Favorite food: Pizza, especially from Punch Pizza!

Why is Science important?

Science is an awesome subject, because the skills you learn in science are directly applicable to your everyday life!  Science is all about thinking critically, and the scientific method (observe, predict, test) is a great way to think about problems.  But, my absolute favorite thing about science is that it’s a work in progress – there’s so much we still don’t know!  Amazing discoveries are still being made, such as the possible detection of the Higgs boson this summer, and there are so many important questions, such as how proteins in the cells of our body achieve their 3-D shape, that remain unanswered.  Most exciting, the answers to these questions have profound implications ranging from our basic understanding of the universe to possible cures for diseases.

What do you do when you’re not working at SPP?

I love to dance at Zumba class, play board games, read, geocache, and go hiking.

How did you spend your summer?

This summer I got married and moved from the Upper Peninsula of Michigan to the Twin Cities!

Where is the best place you’ve ever lived or visited and why?

I grew up in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan, near the shores of Lake Superior, and out of all the places I’ve been, it’s still my favorite.  The U.P. is very remote, with beautiful forests, waterfalls, cliffs, and beaches.  Lake Superior is the largest of the great lakes, and is simply breathtaking.  Some of its beaches are sandy, others are rugged and rocky.  Some days, the lake is calm and peaceful.  Other times, the lake’s huge waves crash on the shore.  Either way, it’s my favorite place for a chilly swim.  My husband and I even got engaged while swimming in Lake Superior!

What’s the coolest thing you’ve ever done?

Last year, I trained for and competed in a 10 kilometer snowshoe race.  When I got to the race, most people had small metal snowshoes – I was the only person with the old-fashioned wooden frames.  I had no trouble until I was sprinting towards the finish line and my snowshoes got caught on each other, causing me to face plant!  It made for a spectacular finish.

What do you find fascinating?

I find people fascinating, especially the wide variety of ways in which people learn and the huge range of talents that people bring to a group.  I also love hearing or reading about people’s life stories – learning about a person’s dreams and the challenges they’ve overcome always inspires me.

In terms of my subject area, I am fascinated by the question of how proteins fold into their correct 3-D shape.  I think it’s amazing that proteins in our bodies are correctly folding all day long, but we haven’t figured out exactly how they’re doing it!

If you weren’t teaching, what job would you want?

This is a tough one!  I think I might enjoy being a librarian, or maybe an accountant!

Tell me something unique about yourself.

In order to explore our new state, my husband and I are trying to visit every state park in Minnesota over the next three years!

Learn more about Ms. Clark and St. Paul Preparatory Faculty and Staff.

Published by

Nacel Open Door

Nacel Open Door, Inc. is a nonprofit organization dedicated to international understanding and language education.

Leave a Reply

