Meet Our Faculty: Tiffany Good

The teachers and staff members at St. Paul Preparatory share a love of cultures and education. We come from diverse backgrounds and share our unique talents and experiences with our school community. We truly care about our students and take joy in helping them reach their full potential.

Meet Tiffany Good from our English and Foreign Language Department.

Faculty Profile, Tiffany Good

English and Foreign Language Department

  • Favorite movie: Dead Poets Society
  • Favorite color: Purple

Why is learning French important?

French is spoken in a lot of countries, not just France. It is an important international and diplomatic language and is widely used in business.  Having knowledge of another language will be useful for your career, help in university studies and will believe it or not, enrich your English. There are many English words derived from French.

What do you do when you’re not working at SPP?

When I am not working at SPP and have some free time. (What is that?)  I usually read, exercise, go for walks when the weather is nice, sometimes take university classes, and am involved in various ministries at my church.

Where is the best place you’ve ever lived or visited and why?

Kenya and Tanzania, Africa. They are both beautiful countries. I got to go to the Serengeti National Park. The school that I taught at in Kenya was located in the Rift Valley. It has beautiful views. The culture is different from the US in that it is more community oriented and less busy. It doesn’t have all the conveniences like the US but every country or culture has its own uniqueness. You learn to appreciate what you have.

What’s the coolest thing you’ve ever done?

Climbed Mount Longonot in the Rift Valley located in Kenya. It is 9,108 Feet high. This is a dormant stratovolcano. I will climb it only once!

What’s something you’re planning to do this school year?

One of my goals in writing classes is to imbed more grammar into the content/teaching of writing rather than treating it as a separate topic.

If you could go anywhere in the world, where would you go and what would you do there?

I would go back to Africa because I loved it even though it is a little bit out of my comfort zone. I would maybe also travel to Asia since I have never been there. Wherever I go, it would be to discover the different places, maybe help in some way or teach.

Have you ever experienced culture shock? When and how did you deal with it?

Yes, I have dealt with culture shock both when I went to France and when I went to Africa.  In France, there came a time when I decided not to wallow in the situation. I tried to change my perspective and also change what I could for my particular situation. As I was only in Africa for four months, I decided to make the best of it. Take in all I could. Be myself but not try and change the culture there. In both experiences, I tried my best to fit in with the culture and be a part of it. Part of that is learning how to function in their way of life and adapting while keeping your own unique personality and values. I even tried to learn some swahili! It is never a good idea to isolate yourself in a foreign country.

Learn more about Ms. Good and St. Paul Preparatory Faculty and Staff.

Published by

Nacel Open Door

Nacel Open Door, Inc. is a nonprofit organization dedicated to international understanding and language education.

Leave a Reply

