Meet Our Staff: Andrea Schiebe

The teachers and staff members at St. Paul Preparatory share a love of cultures and education. We come from diverse backgrounds and share our unique talents and experiences with our school community. We truly care about our students and take joy in helping them reach their full potential.

Meet Andrea Schiebe, our Front Desk Receptionist.

Staff Profile, Andrea Schiebe

Front Office Staff

  • Favorite movie: Anastasia
  • Favorite book: The Alchemist
  • Favorite color: Turquoise
  • Favorite food: Almost any fruit or vegetable

Why do you like working at the front desk?

As the person at the front desk, I am able to interact with almost all of the students everyday!  I am also fortunate to work alongside and help support all of the wonderful teachers and staff at SPP.

How did you spend your summer?

Half of my summer was spent finishing up my term of service with AmeriCorps in Los Angeles, California.  There I worked at a K-8 school as a Teaching Assistant, Tutor, Music Teacher, and I taught private piano and guitar lessons.  I then moved back to Minnesota and spent the rest of my summer re-connecting with family and friends, as well as enjoying the beauty of Minnesota, on the lakes and on the trails.

Where is the best place you’ve ever lived or visited and why?

I lived and studied for a semester in Quetzaltenango, Guatemala during college. Living in and travelling through Central America was life-changing.  After spending time in Guatemala, Honduras, El Salvador, and Mexico; I have discovered the beauty of the land and the people there.  I grew and learned so much while I was there – studying the language, history and culture, as well as living with a host family.  Salsa dancing, climbing volcanoes, visiting the ocean, and immersing myself in hot springs and other natural wonders of the earth, I often find myself reflecting and reminiscing of those incredible 4 months of my life.

What’s the coolest thing you’ve ever done?

I Rode up Mt. Sinai on a Camel, watched the sunset on top of the Mount, and then walked back down in the moonlight. I was on a trip through the Holy Land (through Israel and Egypt).  Riding on a camel is quite an amazing experience – especially in such a historically sacred place.  When the sun was setting, it seemed as though time was standing still.  Then stumbling down the mount in the dark was a little challenging, yet exciting.

What do you find fascinating?

I have always been fascinated by architecture – how buildings and structures can remain intact and sturdy for so long, as well as be preserved over time.

If you could go anywhere in the world, where would you go and what would you do there?

I would go to Europe and travel throughout – I know it’s big (that’s why I chose it).  I would spend time enjoying the culture, people, land, architecture, and history.  I would write, take photographs, hike, swim, and fully embrace the wonders of something new.

If you weren’t working at SPP, what job would you want?

I would want to be a writer and photographer.  I would capture moments as I travel to different areas of the world.

Have you ever experienced culture shock? When and how did you deal with it?

Living in South Central Los Angeles was definitely a culture shock for me. Growing up in rural Cannon Falls, I was at the other extreme living and working in the inner city of LA for 11 months.  This was both challenging and uncomfortable for me – to be amidst gangs, angst and despair, as well as the racial minority.  I took every day to appreciate any peace and serenity I could find.  Escaping to nature every opportunity I had, I embraced the beaches, mountains, and hiking that surrounded me.  I did a lot of journaling to help me process the experience, as well as yoga and some home workouts.  I discovered that it is when you are most uncomfortable; you discover how strong you are.

Tell me something interesting about you.

I practice yoga almost every day and plan to become a yoga instructor.

What is something you have always wished you could do, but haven’t done?

Be a star on Broadway!

Learn more about Ms. Schiebe and St. Paul Preparatory Faculty and Staff.

Published by

Nacel Open Door

Nacel Open Door, Inc. is a nonprofit organization dedicated to international understanding and language education.

Leave a Reply

