Meet Our Faculty: Kara Redding

The teachers and staff members at St. Paul Preparatory share a love of cultures and education. We come from diverse backgrounds and share our unique talents and experiences with our school community. We truly care about our students and take joy in helping them reach their full potential.

Meet Kara Redding from our Social Studies Department.

Faculty Profile, Kara Redding

Social Studies Department

  • Favorite movie: Breakfast at Tiffany’s
  • Favorite book: (Right now) Game of Thrones
  • Favorite color: Blue
  • Favorite food: Rice

Why is Social Studies important?

Social Studies provides an excellent catalyst for tapping into students’ vast international experiences and allows me to push students to address difficult questions that not only address history but also their place in the world and the role they play in our community.

What do you do when you’re not working at SPP?

I sing a lot – karaoke of course, but I am also in an a cappella group called Freeze Ray and a jazz band called Twin Cities Jazz Cats, which plays at nursing homes and assisted living complexes.

How did you spend your summer?

The highlight of my summer was when a friend of mine from my own study abroad experience came to visit me for a week. We studied at an international school somewhat like SPP in Osaka, Japan in 2007 and this is the second time we’ve seen each other since we finished school.

Where is the best place you’ve ever lived or visited and why?

Minnesota – despite all my travels, I maintain that this is the best place to live. People are kind and welcoming, there are lots of fun things to do, and besides, all my friends and family are here.

What’s the coolest thing you’ve ever done?

Dressed up in costume at a sci-fi convention. I have a very personal definition of cool.

If you could give one piece of advice about life, what would it be?

Never make a decision based on fear.

If you could go anywhere in the world, where would you go and what would you do there?

Do I get just one choice? Right now, I’d like to go to Mexico to visit a friend I studied abroad with. It’s been a few years since she visited me and it’s about time I returned the favor. I also want to go to Hawaii, New York, Turkey, Berlin, India, and China. There are others but that takes care of the top 7.

If you weren’t teaching, what job would you want?

I would want to be the host of a Travel Channel show.

Have you ever experienced culture shock? When and how did you deal with it?

Yes, in Japan when I studied abroad I had culture shock in the second month or so – about the time that I got over being excited with the novelty of everything and before I made any real friends. I dealt with it by inviting myself along with any plans I overheard being made to do anything outside of school, and in this way, I made some real friends.

Do you have any pets?

YES! I have an adorable dog named Rosie. She’s a mix of black lab and German shepherd and a variety of other breeds we cannot quite identify.

Learn more about Ms. Redding and St. Paul Preparatory Faculty and Staff.

Published by

Nacel Open Door

Nacel Open Door, Inc. is a nonprofit organization dedicated to international understanding and language education.

Leave a Reply

