Meet Our Faculty: Tyler Forsythe

The teachers and staff members at St. Paul Preparatory share a love of cultures and education. We come from diverse backgrounds and share our unique talents and experiences with our school community. We truly care about our students and take joy in helping them reach their full potential.

Meet Tyler Forsythe from our Music Department.

Faculty Profile, Tyler Forsythe

Music Teacher

Forsythe

  • Favorite movie: The Royal Tenenbaums
  • Favorite book: His Dark Materials trilogy (The Golden Compass)
  • Favorite color: Green
  • Favorite food: My mom’s enchiladas, they are far from “authentic”, but I like them anyway

What’s something cool about your subject?

It is accessible.  Every known culture has music, so even if another culture’s music sounds “foreign” to you, it is a starting point from which you can build meaningful relationships.

What do you do when you’re not working at SPP?

My life really revolves around choir, both in and out of school.  I sing and direct several choirs outside of my work at SPP.  (Is choir ever really “work”?  I think not.)

Where is the best place you’ve ever lived or visited and why?

“The North” in Namibia was surreal because it was an African savannah but the people could have been from North Dakota.

What’s the coolest thing you’ve ever done?

I once attended an opera that mixed techno, taiko, anime, and martial arts in with the “normal” opera stuff.  While there, I was seated directly behind Jason Alexander.

If you could give one piece of advice about life, what would it be?

Do things you love doing.

What’s something you’re planning to do this school year?

Spend one of my breaks at Disneyworld.  I know it’s cliché, but I love that place.

What do you find fascinating?

Wiki-walking: beginning at a page on Wikipedia and following links reading about related (and unrelated) topics

If you could go anywhere in the world, where would you go and what would you do there?

I would go to Estonia to attend the Laulupidu (the Estonian national song festival).

If you weren’t teaching, what job would you want?

If music suddenly ceased to exist, I would work in logistics for UPS.

Tell me something interesting or unique about yourself.

I write with my left hand, but I use scissors with my right hand.

Do you have any pets?

My cat’s name is Rutter.  He’s named after the British composer because people think that his music is “the cat’s meow”.

Learn more about Mr. Forsythe and St. Paul Preparatory Faculty and Staff

Published by

Nacel Open Door

Nacel Open Door, Inc. is a nonprofit organization dedicated to international understanding and language education.

Leave a Reply

