Meet Our Faculty: Mike Wolffe

The teachers and staff members at St. Paul Preparatory share a love of cultures and education. We come from diverse backgrounds and share our unique talents and experiences with our school community. We truly care about our students and take joy in helping them reach their full potential.

Meet Mike Wolffe from our English Department.

Faculty Profile, Mike Wolffe

English Department

Wolffe

  • Favorite movie: L.A. Story, Sirens, American Beauty, The Truman Show and Lost in Translation.
  • Favorite book: The Tao Te Ching by Lao Tzu.  It’s the source for the philosophy of Taoism.
  • Favorite food:  After I moved to Minnesota five years ago I became a big fan of deep-fried cheese curds.  They aren’t available in California, where I grew up.

What subjects do you teach?

I’m a new teacher getting my license in Communication Arts & Literature (also known as English).  I teach Introduction to Literature with Sarah McFarland, and World Literature with Jessica Hovey.

What do you do when you’re not working at SPP?

My wife and I have a 19-month-old daughter who keeps us pretty busy.

Where is the best place you’ve ever lived or visited and why?

I love to travel, and I’ve been fortunate to see some amazing places: Jerusalem in Israel; Machu Picchu in Peru; the Taj Mahal in India; the Outback in Australia; and all over the U.S. and Western Europe.  I would travel to every country in the world if I could.

What’s the coolest thing you’ve ever done?

I went by myself to Easter Island, which is in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.  There’s only one town and a few thousand people, so I often found myself hiking alone along the rugged coastline and admiring the carved stone statues called moai.  Sometimes I felt like the only person left on Earth.  It was one of the best weeks of my life.

If you could give one piece of advice about life, what would it be?

My advice to SPP students is: Take advantage of this amazing opportunity your parents have given you!  You are luckier than 99 percent of the students in your home countries.  The experiences you have while you’re here in the U.S. will change you in ways you can’t yet imagine, and your memories will last a lifetime.

If you weren’t teaching, what job would you want?

Architect, disc jockey, paleontologist, monk.  (These are not joke answers!)

What do you like best about SPP?

The students!  I think it’s incredible that a high school classroom can contain citizens of a dozen different countries.  Where else can you find that kind of diversity besides the United Nations?  That’s what SPP is to me: a miniature United Nations that takes students from widely varying cultures and languages and creates a global community.  And I get to be a part of it!

Learn more about St. Paul Preparatory Faculty and Staff.

Published by

Nacel Open Door

Nacel Open Door, Inc. is a nonprofit organization dedicated to international understanding and language education.

Leave a Reply

