Meet Our Faculty: Jenni Konigsburg

The teachers and staff members at St. Paul Preparatory share a love of cultures and education. We come from diverse backgrounds and share our unique talents and experiences with our school community. We truly care about our students and take joy in helping them reach their full potential.

Meet Jenni Konigsburg from our Math Department.

Faculty Profile,  Jenni Konigsburg

Math Department

Jenni K

  • Favorite movie: Life Aquatic
  • Favorite book: The Life and Times of Michael K
  • Favorite color: YELLOW
  • Favorite food: Spaghetti

What’s something cool about your Math?

Math is more creative than a lot of people believe.  Being able to think about a problem in different ways caters to individual differences of our students, but also encourages students to think outside of the box when it comes to solving a particular type of problem.  Math is about flexibility and persistence, skills needed in everyday situations.  Math underlies many careers, and being able to problem solve well and with accuracy are useful skills to have!

What do you do when you’re not working at SPP?

Bake bread.  Go to the zoo and gaze at giraffes all day.  Search for funny memes on the internet.

How did you spend your summer?

Doing anything outside.  I like to hike, bike, swim, run, gallop, and dance around in nature.  I often find myself canoeing on Lake Calhoun with friends.

Where is the best place you’ve ever lived or visited and why?

I lived in Guatemala for a year; it was a pretty unique experience.  I really liked going to Toronto many years ago – I took the Pepsi challenge and chose Coke.  The Pepsi people were perplexed.  Washington DC was also pretty amazing.  It’s cool to be around so many historic venues, museums, art galleries, and monuments all centralized in once place!  But I went there when it was freezing cold and raining so it wasn’t all that enjoyable.  I like hiking up Enchanted Rock in Texas – it’s really peaceful up there and it reminds me of my happy little childhood.  I guess I don’t really have a favorite place I’ve lived or visited.  I’m pretty content wherever my cat is.

What’s the coolest thing you’ve ever done?

Gotten swept up in a dirt devil (dust tornado) in West Texas.  When you let it pass through you, you get swept up (literally!) and you get to fly for a few seconds.  If it’s too strong you can fall pretty hard, I had a friend break his ankle once, but if you get a moderate spin of a tornado then you just float and stumble back down.  It’s pretty fun, but it’s also pretty country of me.  I’m really not that country.

If you could give one piece of advice about life, what would it be?

Life allows u-turns.

What’s something you’re planning to do this school year?

Get married!

If you could go anywhere in the world, where would you go and what would you do there?

France.  I would eat cheese and delicious bread and drink wine every day all day.  Maybe go to a museum or something too.

If you weren’t teaching, what job would you want?

A bread baker.

Tell me something interesting or unique about yourself.

I find it really difficult to eat bananas and broccoli.  They are so gross.

Learn more about St. Paul Preparatory Faculty and Staff.

Published by

Nacel Open Door

Nacel Open Door, Inc. is a nonprofit organization dedicated to international understanding and language education.

Leave a Reply

